Planning Board

Planning board


The Summit Planning Board consists of nine (9) members, and two (2) alternate members.  Board Membership and appointment as well as their powers and authority is fully defined in the City’s Development Regulations Ordinance.

The Planning Board function is to generate and update a community Master Plan. Other functions of the Planning Board involve subdivision and site plan review, creation of the official maps and associated zoning ordinances. The Board is also empowered to review and approve “C” variances (departures from zoning ordinances) in conjunction with development applications. The Board may also participate in the preparation and review of plans required by State or Federal regulations. The Board also assembles data for planning purposes and performs other advisory duties upon request by the Common Council.

Planning  Board Application

As of June 3rd, new Planning & Zoning Board Applications are being accepted:

DCS has resumed the acceptance of any new Planning Board and Zoning Board of Adjustment applications either in-person or by mail. In addition to the Zoning Board Application or Planning Board Application, applicants must submit a signed COVID-19 Waiver.  Please email the Planning & Zoning Board Secretary with questions or call (908) 273-6407.

Important Planning Documents

Below are a number of important documents related to the planning and zoning of Summit.  You may also visit the online DCS Document Center or call the Planning & Zoning Office at (908) 723-6407 if you cannot find a specific document you are seeking.

Dev Reg Ord
Summit Housing Element & Spending Plan
Planning Board Application
Request for Property Owners List
Summit Zoning Map


The Planning Board meets once monthly and will entertain emergent applications. Please view a list of meetings or visit the DCS Calendar.

All meetings of the Planning Board are open to the public, and public comments are welcome once application hearings are completed. No sign-up is required to comment. Public comments on specific site presentations are also allowed after each such presentation, with the length of the comments at the discretion of the Planning Board chairperson. Public comments are also allowed for topics other than site presentations.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. View Agendas & Minutes.

Planning Board Members

NameMember Class / Title
Ellen McNeillClass I: Mayor or designee for term of Mayor’s Office
Matthew DiLauriClass II: Municipal Official (one-year term)
Beth Little, Common CouncilClass III: Common Council member (one-year term)
William Anderson
Chair, Class IV Member
James Jay BrinkerhoffVice Chair, Class IV Member
Jennifer BalsonClass IV Member
Richard FioreClass IV Member
John ZuckerClass IV Member
Andrew ParellaClass IV Member
Paul FormichelliClass IV Alternate I
Robert AshmunClass IV Alternate II

Planning Board Staff

Staff MemberTitle
Christa AndersonZoning Officer
Christopher NicolaPlanning Board Secretary