News Flash Home
The original item was published from 5/2/2023 12:21:00 PM to 5/2/2023 12:29:11 PM.

News Flash

Public Works

Posted on: March 2, 2023

[ARCHIVED] Upcoming PSE&G work in Summit's Central Retail Business District

NF PSEG work spring 2023

The next phase of the PSE&G project to replace aging gas pipes in locations throughout Summit is scheduled to begin on or about March 13 and continue through the end of June 2023. Upgrades to gas service in Summit are essential for the utility to continue to support a safe, clean, and reliable gas system in the future.

In this phase of the project, work will significantly impact the Central Retail Business District and include daytime work from 8AM to 5PM and overnight work from 8PM to 5AM on sections of Springfield Avenue, Maple Street, Beechwood Road, and Woodland Avenue, Deforest Avenue and Kent Place Boulevard in downtown Summit.

Click here to read the March 2, 2023, news release and click here to read a Letter to the Editor from Council President Greg Vartan providing a further statement on the project. 

Following is an estimated schedule that is subject to change. Contractor availability, supply chain issues and weather may cause delays.

Monday, March 13 to Friday, March 24 from 8AM to 5PM: Springfield Avenue between Essex Road and Waldron Avenue

Monday, March 27 to Friday, March 31 from 8PM to 5AM: remainder of Springfield Avenue

Monday, April 3 to Friday, April 7 from 8AM to 5PM: Deforest Avenue and Kent Place Boulevard

Monday, April 10 to Friday, May 19 from 9:30PM to 5:30AM: Springfield Avenue between Waldron Avenue and Morris Avenue *Next section beginning Tuesday, May 2: Springfield Avenue between Beechwood Road and Kent Place Boulevard 

Monday, May 8 to Friday, May 19 from 8PM to 5AM: Maple Street

Monday, May 22 to Friday, June 2 from 8AM to 5PM: Woodland Avenue between Springfield Avenue and Deforest Avenue

Monday, June 5 to Friday, June 16 from 8AM to 5PM: remaining areas

Monday, June 19 to Friday, June 23 from 8PM to 5AM: paving operations

Police officers will be on site to direct vehicle and pedestrian traffic. During construction and paving work, parking on affected streets will be suspended. Property owners and businesses will be notified by PSE&G prior to the start of project work and have access to driveways except during paving operations.

More information is available at cityofsummit.org/gaswork, on the PSE&G site at pseg.com/gaswork or by contacting PSE&G at 1-833-661-6300 or at gasworks@pseg.com.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Public Works

Snow guidelines

Snow Removal Guidelines

Posted on: January 4, 2024